2016 recap

Seasons Greetings and festive cheer from all in St Pats at the end of another busy year in the life of the Club!
On the field it was another landmark year in many ways. A very impressive year for the Ladies Footballers who secured another promotion. It was the first time we managed to field two teams at Minor level in football. And a very first time for a Minor Hurling team to contest and play competitive hurling.  These achievements are a mere snapshot that represent the collective coaching effort by a brilliant cohort of mentors that we are very fortunate to have in our midst.
Off the field, it’s been equally busy with Grounds and Facilities development ongoing and much achieved over the last 12 months. The work on Pitch 2 is now more or less complete. The fence will go in over the course of January. And the next 12 months will be all about putting it into the best possible shape before we get it back this time next year. So not having that area available to us over the next year will pose a challenge in terms of space and slots for training and matches. We urge all members, mentors and coaches to bear with us while this is ongoing.

The CC250 Club is one of the big successes of 2016. From a soft launch to where it is now and the potential for where it can go is a potential game changer for us as a club. Future Grounds Development which will include more lights, an artificial pitch and a Club House will be hugely dependent on the success of CC250 so it’s important we keep the initiative going.

Day to day Fundraising will still always be with us unfortunately and to that end an important one is happening in SuperValu 22-24 December. The Bag Packing slot last year was a big success for us on two fronts. In terms of finance raised and profile raised at a time when the shop is extremely busy. We still have some slots that need filling so contact our Club Secretary Elaine Downey if you or your team can give an hour or two over the course of the three days. It’s vital we fill the slots and maintain this fundraiser.

Finally I’d like to welcome the new members of the 2017 Committee: Alan Merriman, Brian McGrath, Fintan Delaney, Brian Moroney and Ken Spratt.
It’s great to have them aboard and here’s hoping for a successful 2017.

Is mise le meas.
Rory O’Neill